Page, Fry, Ramsay and Gengler-Saint to be Inducted into U.S. Squash Hall of Fame

Four pioneers have been chosen for the highest honor in American squash: induction into the United States Squash Hall of Fame. The inductees are Tom Page, John Fry, Gail Ramsay and Nancy Gengler-Saint.

The induction ceremony will be held at the grand opening of the Peggy & Leo Pierce U.S. Squash Hall of Fame in the Arlen Specter US Squash Center on the campus of Drexel University on Saturday, April 2, 2022. Attendance at the ceremony will be open to the public. The event will be hosted in conjunction with the U.S. Masters Squash Championships at the Specter Center, April 1-3.

Tom Page (1956-2001) electrified squash with his physicality and aversion to orthodox squash, becoming a legendary champion in both singles and doubles at the amateur and professional level.

John Fry is the President of Drexel University. He transformed squash in America by leading the initiative to build the Arlen Specter US Squash Center, by hosting the U.S. Open at Drexel and by ensuring that the Open offered prize-money parity.

Gail Ramsay was a dominant player in the 1970s and 80s, winning four straight national intercollegiate titles and nine national doubles titles. Since 1988 she has been a leader and mentor as one of America’s great college squash coaches, winning five national team titles at Princeton.

Nancy Gengler-Saint was a highly successful player in the 1980s who modeled sportsmanship. She played for Team USA at five Women’s World Teams and twice won the Tournament of Champions.

US Squash will expand on the accomplishments of each individual inductee in the coming months.

“I am grateful for the work of the Hall of Fame Committee led by Jim Zug, Jr.  The inductees they proposed are exceptional, each in very different ways, all of which continue to elevate the prestige of the Hall,” said Kevin Klipstein, President & CEO of US Squash. “It’s also so meaningful to have a permanent home for the Hall and I think the grand opening of the Peggy & Leo Pierce U.S. Squash Hall of Fame at the Specter Center will be a very special weekend for everyone involved as well as the entire squash community. To be able to welcome the public to the permanent home of the Hall of Fame, while simultaneously celebrating this caliber of character and excellence feels like a major step in the right direction for the sport.”

The U.S. Squash Hall of Fame was founded in 2000, opened at the Racquet Club of Philadelphia then moved to Payne Whitney Gymnasium at Yale in 2006. The Hall of Fame will move in April to the Specter Center. With the additions of Page, Fry, Ramsay and Gengler-Saint, there will be sixty-nine members of the Hall of Fame.

“These four legends are representative of what makes squash in American so special,” said James Zug, chair of the U.S. Squash Hall of Fame Committee. “They are national champions. They are coaches and teaching pros. They are visionary leaders. All four have had a tremendous impact on the history of squash in the country.”

Please join US Squash on April 2, 2022 for the induction of four members to the U.S. Squash Hall of Fame–Tom Page, John Fry, Gail Ramsay and Nancy Gengler-Saint–and the dedication of the spectacular new Peggy & Leo Pierce U.S. Squash Hall of Fame space in the Arlen Specter US Squash Center.

Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony Registration