US Squash Holds 2020 Annual Meeting of the Members

In accordance with the Association By-laws, ARTICLE IV, Section 1, the Association hosts an Annual Meeting of the Members. This year the meeting was held via Zoom Thursday, June 18.

The meeting was led by a panel of US Squash Directors and Staff Leadership: Mark Pagon, Chairman of the Board; Soo Venkatesan, Vice-chair of the Board; Kevin Klipstein, President & CEO; Kim Clearkin, Vice President of Programs & Events; and Ned Edwards, Executive Director of the Arlen Specter US Squash Center. The purpose of the Annual Meeting is to elect Directors nominated by the Board upon recommendation by the Nominating and Governance Committee to fill upcoming vacancies on the Board, as well as to consider any other business brought before the membership in accordance with the By-laws.

The Staff and Directors provided details on the path forward for the organization and updates on progress towards the opening of the Arlen Specter US Squash Center in Philadelphia later this year. Four Directors were elected through proxy and virtual voting: Joe Dworetzky, Nick LePore, Linda Robinson, and Sandy Tierney (read more here). After conclusion of the formal elements of the meeting, US Squash members engaged in a question & answer session with the staff and Directors. Q&A topics included the status of the 2020 U.S. Open originally scheduled for November, details on guidelines that would govern a potential return, planned enhancements to the officiating program and an update on the construction timeline of the Specter Center.

The Annual Meeting can be viewed in its entirety below or on the US Squash YouTube page.

US Squash plans to continue to hold town-hall-style virtual gatherings throughout the summer to provide the most up-to-date information and gather input from members.