San Francisco Lifts First Howe Cup in Four Years

The Howe Cup will return to San Francisco for just the second time in the eighty-nine-year history of the U.S. Women’s Team Championships as the Olympic Club-based team edged two New York City teams in the final playoffs Sunday, November 12, at the Arlen Specter US Squash Center.

300 women competed on teams of five players across four divisions in the eighty-ninth edition of the Howe Cup, the United States’ largest annual women’s squash tournament. Ninety-eight players competed on forty-eight doubles pairings in the MPD doubles held alongside the Howe Cup–the largest women’s doubles event held over the course of the season.

View all results on the Howe Cup tournament page and MPB Doubles tournament page. Watch match replays on the US Squash Youtube channel. Tournament photography will be available on the US Squash Smugmug page.

The A division culminated in a three-team playoff going into finals day between San Francisco’s Olympic Club, the NYC Squash Squad and NYC Court Cadets, who all topped their respective groups. The Squash Squad and San Francisco both defeated the Court Cadets to set up the Howe Cup final. San Francisco clinched the Howe Cup 4-1 including a 3-2 win at No. 4 by Abigail Bagby and a 3-1 win by Sarah Beresford at No. 5

“It’s such an honor to get a San Francisco team together, fly out here and compete among all of these amazing women, and it feels even better to go home with the win,” said Casey Wong, the Olympic Club team captain. “I’m so proud of all of my teammates for coming together to become such a great team and supporting each other so well. It felt like we got better with every match and really found our games.”

San Francisco first won the Howe Cup in 2019 when an entirely different Olympic Club team earned the Howe Cup.

“Howe Cup is one of my favorite events, I played it a long time ago with my mom,” Wong added. “It’s such an incredible feeling to come back and see all of these women competing in the same space and witnessing the camaraderie, which is unlike any other tournament I’ve ever played in.”

The B, C and D divisions were all decided by exciting 3-2 finals.

Boston produced two champions in the B and D divisions. The top-seeded Boston Queen Bs avenged their 2022 B final loss against New York City with a close final win over Double Trouble, while The D’ Drop Shots topped the D’ Railers in an all-Boston final. Seattle won the city’s first C division title since 2009 thanks to the Suits defeating the Philly Rugrats.