The US Squash Annual Meeting of the Members took place at the 2019 National Singles Championship in Washington, D.C. on Saturday, March 30, during a special dinner at the Marriott Hotel. The primary purpose of the Annual Meeting was to elect Directors nominated by the Board as recommended by the organization’s Nominating and Governance Committee.

Of the four Board positions available July 1, 2019, one was a re-nomination of currently serving Director Jennifer Mackesy. Two others were new nominees Peter Dunne and Andrew Fink. The final position will be filled at a future date.

US Squash President and CEO Kevin Klipstein conducted the meeting, and the slate of Directors were elected by unanimous voice vote from the membership present at the meeting, as well as by overwhelming support by online proxy.

Klipstein began his remarks by thanking everyone for attending the 108th hosting of the National Championships. He indicated that the health and vitality of the sport of squash at all levels, including adult leagues, junior programs and college teams, was on display at the World Masters championships last summer in Charlottesville when more than 800 masters players from more than 40 countries came together.

Klipstein talked about the importance of inclusiveness as a key squash quality that will be integrated into the Arlen Specter US Squash Center opening in 2020. It will feature 20 courts, a learning and innovation center, coaching center and squash Hall of Fame in addition to US Squash offices.

He also spoke about innovation, from the organization’s globally adopted live scoring, tournament management and court booking software to its leadership in prize money parity for women. Klipstein concluded his remarks by pointing out how the organization’s core values continue to be practiced on the court everyday: accountability, honesty, courtesy and respect.

“Squash’s greatest quality is its commitment to being a life-long pursuit played by people of all ages, backgrounds, shapes and sizes,” Klipstein said. “We thank all of you gathered here today for reflecting those values and being part of this special community.”