Puertas & Dugan Win Maiden Century Doubles Title; Harrity Claims Third Straight

2022 Century Doubles Open champions Mike Puertas & Nathan Dugan

The fifteenth U.S. Century Doubles will have new names on the Open champions list as Mike Puertas & Nathan Dugan captured their maiden title, while Thomas Harrity added a third straight to his name and first in the 60+ division, April 8-10, in New York City.

Celebrating the notion that squash is a lifetime sport, the “Tournament of the Century” requires that the combined age of each team to be one hundred years or greater. Nearly ninety players competed on forty-four teams across six divisions at the University Club of New York, Heights Casino, New York Athletic Club and Union Club of New York. The Century Doubles enjoyed its seventh year of support from sponsors Jefferson’s Small Batch Bourbon.

View all results on the U.S. Century Doubles tournament page. Watch replays of all matches at the University Club on the US Squash Youtube channel. View tournament images on the US Squash Smugmug page.

In the five-team Open division, Puertas and Dugan fulfilled their top seeding, dropping just one game on their way to the title with Jeff Stanley & Ryan O’Connell placing second.

After winning back-to-back Open titles in 2019 and 2020 with Chris Walker, Thomas Harrity moved up to the Century Legends (60+) age division this year with Christopher Haley as the top seeds. Haley & Harrity earned the title without dropping a game, defeating surprise finalists Glenn Baron & Aaron Zenner 15-10, 15-9, 15-11.

Bry Roskoz & Laura Stuto narrowly won the women’s division, pulling out a close final against Beth Rasin & Nayelley Hernandez-Walker 15-8, 12-15, 11-15, 15-6, 15-7.

John Brazilian & Kyle Martino won their first Century Doubles titles in the Masters (70+) division, but faced tough challenges in a five-game semifinal against Alladin Mitha & Ahmed Hamza, and a four-game final against three-time 70+ champions Will Hartigan & Edward Minskoff.

Canada’s Yaphe Paul & George Brzozowski-Ryan won their first Century Doubles titles in the six-team strong Grand Champions (80+) division, defeating Bill & Will Hubbard in a three-game final.

In the A division, Charlie Humber & Amrit Kanwal upset defending champions Mauricio Bocanegra & Alfredo Nieto in the semifinals, and went on to win their first A title against Scott Poirier & Andrew Matuch in a close five-game final.

Thanks to all Century Doubles patrons for their support:

Gold Patrons:
Mauricio Bocanegra
John Brazilian
Jefferson’s Bourbon
Kit Tatum

Silver Patrons:
Clark Amos
Kenton Jernigan
Kevin Jernigan